A Tale of Two Baseball Cities

I love baseball. I played it as a kid. As an adult, I have played on championship softball teams. The main reason I love it is because my grandmother was a huge fan. I have so many memories of us going to games and watching them on TV. Yes, great memories.

Chicago is a town of two baseball teams. Depending upon where you grew up (south or north), there was an expectation that you were a Chicago Cubs fan or Chicago White Sox fan. I love both teams. The Cubs have let me down many times. The White Sox won a World Series in 2005.

Having lived in Colorado for a part of my life, I visited Coors Field (home of the Rockies) in Denver many times. It has a newer ballpark with all the amenities you could want at a baseball stadium. Wrigley Field, the home of the Cubs, is a 100-year-old ballpark that shakes and rumbles and creeks like the elevated (“el”) trains that run through many Chicago neighborhoods.

Chicago Cubs fans are die-hard and loyal to the team. Yep, just call us lovable losers! I’m sure Rockies fans love their team as well. But Chicago has a baseball nostalgia that just can’t be beat. Oh, and the smell of those Chicago Style Hot Dogs! Amazing!

Baseball in the “Mile High City” or in Chicago? Which one? Well, of course, give me Chicago baseball any day. But that view of the Rocky Mountains from Coors Field is indeed awesome!

Have a great day!

©2014  Jayden Miller Photography. All rights reserved.

Leave a comment