A Piece of History

I have had this watch for many years. My grandmother gave it to me just after my grandfather died. She wanted me to have and preserve a memento that has been in our family for nearly 100 years. She has also passed away. I treasure it not for any monetary value. I cherish it because it was entrusted to me and given out of love.

The Elgin Watch Company was a major United States watchmaker from 1864 until 1968 when the company closed. The company was incorporated in Chicago, Illinois, USA, and then moved to the town of Elgin, Illinois, a suburb about 30 miles northwest. The company produced many of the self-winding wristwatch movements made in the United States.

Throughout the years, a number of additional plants were operated, mostly in Elgin. However, additional plants were located in Aurora, Illinois and Lincoln, Nebraska. The original, obsolete factory in Elgin closed in 1964, after having produced half of the total number of pocket watches manufactured in the United States. In 1964, the company relocated most manufacturing operations to a brand new plant in Blaney, South Carolina, a town near Columbia, South Carolina which renamed itself Elgin, South Carolina.

I am so grateful to have this wonderful piece of family history. The watch brings me mixed emotions of the joy of having my grandparents in my life and the sadness of a time that is gone forever.

Have a great day!

© 2014 Jayden Miller Photography. All rights reserved.

8 thoughts on “A Piece of History

Leave a comment