Four Figures on a Step

What really strikes me about this painting by Bartolome` Esteban Murillo is how four different figures can evoke many different interpretations of what is going on in the scene. What does this street scene from the mid-1600’s depict? Are the young man and woman happy that the little boy is hurt? Did they hurt him and are now mocking the situation? Is the older woman a good Samaritan or a charlatan?

Murillo’s scene in this painting really caused me to evaluate and re-evaluate my perspective. What is the message Murillo is trying to convey? What do you think? I look forward to your responses!

Have a great day!

© 2014 Jayden Miller Photography. All rights reserved.

4 thoughts on “Four Figures on a Step

  1. I honestly do not know how to read this painting. Each person seems to have a different expression which doesn’t seem to fit the scene. Definitely need to ponder this one.

Leave a comment